The American Dream

by johnathanknight

INT. PROGRESSIVE HOUSEHOLD, KITCHEN – EVENING

MOM(34) is sitting at the kitchen table in front of her laptop. She’s holding a half-eaten slice of pizza in one hand while tapping on her keyboard with the other.

The door opens, and DAD(35) comes in. He looks a little haggard as he takes off his long coat.

DAD

Hey honey. I’m home.

MOM

Oh, you look rough. How was work today?

Dad hangs his coat over the back of a kitchen chair before plopping down in the seat.

DAD

Miserable. Just miserable. Let me tell you about

it.    I got fired,  the car broke down,  and that

energy company we invested in went belly up.

Mom puts her slice of pizza down and closes her laptop. Her attention is now fully on Dad.

MOM

Does this mean what I think it means?

Dad can no longer contain himself. A big grin spreads across his face.

DAD

Sure does. It’s time to spend our way out of debt!

Mom, grinning ear-to-ear, jumps up.

MOM

I’ll get my purse!

Dad hops out of his own chair.

DAD

I’ll get the credit cards!

Just before they both run off, Mom touches Dad’s elbow, stopping him.

MOM

Oh, honey. Before I forget, the Jones family down the

road is on hard times. They sure could use some money.

DAD

No sweat. We’ll just take out a new credit card in

our kid’s name and cut them a big, fat check.

Mom hugs dad. It’s a lingering hug, full of warmth and affection.

MOM

Aren’t we the bestest, smartest, most progressive family ever!

DAD

We sure are, honey. We sure are.

FADE TO BLACK.

